Group Leader

Joseph F. Hennawi

Intergalactic and circumgalactic medium, galaxy formation, quasars and AGN, absorption line techniques, data mining.


PhD Students

Teng Hu

Lyman-alpha forest, Low z Intergalactic Medium.

Masters Students

Undergraduate Students

Former Group Members

Name Position Held Current Position
J.T. Schindler Postdoc 2021-2023 Faculty at University of Hamburg
Suk Sien Tie Postdoc 2020-2023 Now working in industry
Koki Kakiichi Postdoc 2019-2023 DAWN fellow at University of Copenhagen
Riccardo Nanni Postdoc 2019-2023 Now working in industry
Feige Wang Postdoc 2017-2019 Hubble fellow then assistant research professor at U. Arizona
Frederick Davies Postdoc 2015-2019 Faculty at Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics
Anna-Christina Eilers PhD student 2015-2019 Joint Hubble and Pappalardo fellow at MIT, now faculty at MIT
Hector Hiss PhD student 2015-2019 Now working in industry
Tobias Schmidt PhD student 2014-2019 Postdoctoral fellow at University of Geneva
Michael Walther PhD student 2013-2019 Postdoc at Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich
Emanuele Farina Postdoc 2017-2018 Staff scientist at Gemini Observatory
Jonathan Stern Postdoc 2013-2017 Humboldt Fellow, CIERA prize fellow, faculty at Tel Aviv University
Jose Onorbe Postdoc 2013-2017 Faculty at University of Seville
Daniele Sorini PhD student 2013-2017 Postdoc at Durham University
Gabor Worseck Postdoc 2012-2017 Now working in industry
Ilya Khrykin PhD student 2012-2016 Postdoc at Kavli IPMU
Cristina Garcia Vergara PhD student 2013-2015 Now working in industry
Fabrizio Arrigoni-Battaia PhD student 2011-2015 ESO prize fellow, faculty at Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics
Khee-Gan Lee Postdoc 2011-2015 Hubble fellow, faculty at Kavli IPMU
Gabriela Calistro Rivera Masters student 2013-2014 PhD student Leiden University, ESO prize fellow
Elisabeta Lusso Postdoc 2011-2014 Faculty at University of Florence
Alberto Rorai PhD student 2011-2014 Postdoc at Cambridge, now working in industry
Girish Kulkarni Postdoc 2011-2014 Faculty at Tata Institue of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
Neil Crighton Postdoc 2010-2013 Postdoc at Swinburne University of Technology, now working in industry
Kate Rubin Postdoc 2010-2013 Humboldt Fellow, Harvard Clay Fellow, faculty at San Diego State